Stations of the Cross

Stations of the Cross according to the method of Saint Francis.

We adore you O’ Christ and we praise you.


Because by your Holy Cross you have redeem the world.

For Roman Catholics throughout the world, the above words introduce us to the “Stations of the Cross.” Inseparable from Lent, Holy Week, and Good Friday, this devotion is also known as “The Way of the Cross.” Consisting of 14 key events on the day of Christ’s crucifixion, each station allows us to reflect prayerfully upon Christ’s suffering, death, and resurrection as we experience his love for us.

The Stations originated in medieval Europe when wars prevented Christians from visiting the Holy Land. European artists created works depicting scenes of Christ’s journey to Mt. Calvary. The faithful installed these sculptures or paintings at intervals along a procession route, inside the parish church, or outdoors. Performing the devotion meant walking the entire route, stopping to pray at each station.

Today, images of the “Stations” are on display in almost all Catholic Churches. I invite you to enrich your Lenten experience by picturing yourself in the scenes as you accompany Jesus along the “Way of the Cross.” What does he say to you? What do you say in response?

The “Stations of the Cross” are playing at a parish church near you and are “rated G” for all audiences, so bring the young and the old with you. I promise you that they will want to come again. Check their website for dates and times.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply